2018 Convention Schedule

Special Presentations & TAF Leaders

Special Presentations made during convention by TAF President James Spears


The Jimmy Floyd Memorial Award was first given  in 1999, as a Memorial Award for Jimmy Floyd, who was a great businessman, husband, father and son.  Jimmy was a great supporter of the TAF and served on the TAF Board of Directors for several years.  This award is given by the Tennessee Association of Fairs. The award is given each year to an Associate Member who is active and involved with the Tennessee Association of Fairs.
Greg Farmer IMG_3001
Jimmy Floyd Memorial trophy presented to
by TAF President James Spears
Greg Farmer – “The Grand Illusionist:, Somerset, KY .  Greg was sick at convention and had to leave early the award was presented it to him in the General Business meeting.


The Thornton Taylor Award started in 1971 as a Memorial Award for Thornton Taylor, long-time member of the Lincoln County Fair and a State Legislator.  This award is provided by the Lincoln County Fair.  This is given each year to a person who is active and been involved with the Tennessee Association of Fairs.

Brenda IMG_3351
Presented to
by TAF President James Spears
The award was presented during Banquet and the following write-up was read prior to presenting the award.  The above picture tells the story of the great surprise and honored felt by Brenda.

“The love of county fair starts in many different ways.  For some it starts when asked to volunteer or serve in one capacity or another.  This year we are honoring someone who started working with their county fair in 1978 and from there it is history.  In 1984 this person was elected to the local county fair board and is still on that board today.  Served as President of this county fair and has shared with the board and volunteers the honor of being ‘Champion Fair’ in their division several times and gone on to be named ‘Champion of Champion’ fair more than once.  Not only has this person been active in their local fair but have been working on different committees with the Tennessee Association of Fairs, never saying, ‘I don’t have time’.  When volunteers were asked to work at the Tennessee State Fir, that wasn’t a problem as well.  Not only volunteering one time but several times.  Being first elected a Director of the TAF in 1996, then again in 2005 and again in 2010.  To show you how much fair is in her blood, one year they traveled with a TAF President, so that they wouldn’t have to travel by themselves when their spouse was out of town.  She has one daughter, son-in-law and three grand-children.  Also two step daughters and two step grand-children and a very supporting husband.  It is with great pleasure that I present the ‘Thorton Taylor Award’ to Brenda Pierce-Williams from the Fentress County Fair.”


This plaque is given by the Dyer County Fair in memory of Vernon Henson,
long-time member of their fair board and a past president of the TAF.

Steve & James IMG_3386
Presented to outgoing TAF President

Lost loved ones IMG_3268
Pictured above a representatives of fairs who have lost loved ones, those honored included: Carl Pressley Worley – Anderson County Fair; Ken Ripley – Appalachian Fair; Roy Orr & Bennett Bell – Benton County Fair; Daisy Hamblin – Cheatham County Fair; John Teeples – Clay County Fair; Elmo Lewis – Cumberland County Fair; Darrell Coats – Henry County Fair; Darrell Hale – Lincoln County Fair; Mac Steele, Jim Groves & Charlie Summers – Sequatchie County Fair; Don Holifield – Tennessee Valley Fair; Mary Frances Purnell & Lera Ruth Dias – Trousdale County Fair; Billy Cartwright – Warren County Fair; Henry Clayton “Hoss” Stone – White County Fair; Danny Smith & Dona Brumbach – Wilson County Fair.

Directors officers IMG_3102
Pictured front: Ruthie Jeans, V.P. Middle Tennessee, and Debbie Bradshaw-Hart, V.P. West Tennessee.
Back row, left to right: Stephen Potter, V.P. East Tennessee; James Spears, TAF President; Emily Pitcock, Executive Secretary; Tommy Wheatley, Immediate Past President.

Officials IMG_3298Officer, Directors & Special Guest take time for a photo prior to the Annual Awards Banquet
Pictured front row, left to right: Brenda Pierce, East Tennessee Director, Ruthie Jeans V.P. Middle Tennessee, Lisa Robinson, Middle Tennessee Director;  2013 Fairest of the Fairs Miss Clare McConnell;  Carol Vinson, Middle Tennessee Director,  and Deneician Gregson, West Tennessee Director.  Middle row, left to right: Loretta Rummel, East Tennessee Director; Stephen Potter, V.P. East Tennessee; Rhonda Humbert, East Tennessee Director; James Spears, TAF President; Commissioner Julius Johnson, Tennessee Department of Agriculture; Emily Pitcock, Executive Secretary; Debbie Bradshaw-Hare, V.P. West Tennessee; Lynn Williams, Fair Administrator – Tennessee Department of Agriculture; and Shelly Stricklin, West Tennessee Director.  Back row, left to right: Eddie Burch, Middle Tennessee Director; Assistant Commissioner Joe Gains; James Roy Pope, Associate Director; Tommy Wheatly, Immediate Past President; William Lowery, West Tennessee Director and Rick Clark, Associate Director.