2018 Convention Schedule

2014 Merit Award Meeting

Meritt Awards Committee Pic IMG_3639sm

2014 Merit Awards Committee

Pictured front row, left to right: Karen Marshall, Sequatchie County Fair; Deneicia Gregson, Henry County Fair; Debby Terry-Keith, Lincoln County Fair; 1st Vice President – Ruthie Jeans, Lincoln County Fair; TAF President -Debbie Bradshaw-Hart, Dyer County Fair; 3rd Vice President – Shelly Stricklin, Hardin County Fair; Fair Administrator – Lynne Williams, and Cindy Smith, Fentress County Fair.  Back row, left to right: TAF Executive Secretary – Emily Pitcock, Lincoln County Fair; Gina Jackson, Dyer County Fair; Blake Laws, Obion County Fair; John Beasley, Middle Tennessee District Fair; Phil Booher, Appalachian Fair; 2nd Vice President – Brenda Pierce, Fentress County Fair; Steve Queener, Anderson County Fair; Past President – Stephen Potter, Morgan County Fair; H.D. Crosslin, Coffee County Fair; Keith Franks, Hardin County Fair; and Henry Dean, Robertson County Fair.

Productive Meeting for the Merit Awards Committee Held

The Ellington Agricultural Center in Nashville, Tennessee was, once again, the perfect setting for the annual meeting with all members in attendance.  The meeting was called to order at 8:30 with Mrs. Ruthie Jeans, 2014 Chairman, TAF 1st Vice-President presiding.  Approval of minutes, roll call, discussion of procedures was among items on the agenda.  56 fairs applied to be eligible however only 53 fairs meet the November 1st deadline.  Competing for the positions of Champion fair, 1st runner, 2nd runner and most improved fairs were 15 fairs in the “A” division, 17 fairs in the “AA” division, and 12 fairs in the “AAA” division.  Setting out due to competing for Champion fair the past season were Overton, Cocke, Sevier Counties.  Competing for the position of Champion Fair are Sequatchie, Rhea & Williamson County.   There were 112 official visitors reports to accompany the applications, as well as, fair catalogs, and pictures.  After hours of reviewing by the subcommittees which were broke down in to 3  areas lunch was provided around 11:45.  Following lunch final discussions and votes took place and the meeting was adjourned.

Click here for Guidelines for Fair Evaluation

The following are some scenes from the day…